Reference Portals


University of Albany http://library.albany.edu/reference/
iTools http://www.iTools.com/
Bartleby.com http://www.bartleby.com/reference/
Library Spot http://www.libraryspot.com/
DeskRef http://ansernet.rcls.org/deskref/
Know Play http://www.kplay.cc/reference.html
High School Ace http://highschoolace.com/ace/ace.cfm
Encarta Reference http://encarta.msn.com/encnet/features/reference.aspx
KidsClick! Reference http://kidsclick.org/topfact.html
Multnomah County Library’s Homework Center http://www.multcolib.org/homework/
Homework Spot http://homeworkspot.com
Library Spot http://libraryspot.com
New York Times Navigator http://www.nytimes.com/navigator



Dictionaries and Thesauri

YourDictionary.com http://yourdictionary.com
American Heritage Dictionary the English Language http://www.bartleby.com/61/
American Heritage Spanish Dictionary http://education.yahoo.com/reference/dict_en_es/index.html
Cambridge Dictionaries http://dictionary.cambridge.org/default.asp?dict=A
Encarta World English Dictionary http://encarta.msn.com/encnet/features/Dictionary/DictionaryHome.aspx
Merriam-Webster’s Word Central http://www.wordcentral.com/
Merriam-Webster Online Language Center http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary.htm
Lycos Rhyme Zone http://rhyme.lycos.com/
Dictionary of Symbolism http://www.umich.edu/~umfandsf/symbolismproject/symbolism.html/
Write Express, Online Rhyming Dictionary http://www.rhymer.com/
Glossarist.com http://glossarist.com
Internet Picture Dictionary http://www.pdictionary.com/
Little Explorers Picture Dictionary http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Dictionary.html
Visual Thesaurus http://www.plumbdesign.com/thesaurus/
Free Translation.com http://www.freetranslation.com/
AltaVista’s Babelfish http://babelfish.altavista.com/
Internet Public Library’s A+ Research and Writing http://www.ipl.org/div/teen/aplus/toc.htm
Capital Community College’s Guide to Grammar and Writing http://ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/
Purdue University’s Online Writing Laboratory http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/index.html
Common Errors in English http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~brians/errors/



Almanacs

Infoplease http://www.infoplease.com/
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com
World Almanac for Kids Online http://www.worldalmanacforkids.com/
Fast Facts http://www.freepint.com/gary/handbook.htm
U.S. Census site http://www.census.gov/index.html
Old Farmer's Almanac http://www.almanac.com/index.php
PoliSci.com: The Political Reference Almanac http://www.polisci.com/almanac/almanac.htm
Afro-American Almanac http://www.toptags.com/aama/



Encyclopedia

World Book Online http://worldbookonline.com
Columbia (concise) Encyclopedia http://www.bartleby.com/65/
Britannica Concise http://education.yahoo.com/reference/encyclopedia/
Encarata Concise http://encarta.msn.com/encnet/features/home.aspx
World Book Encyclopedia (concise) See Catalogs and Databases for the full version http://www.worldbookonline.com/
Jewish Encyclopedia http://www.jewishencyclopedia.com/index.jsp
EH.Net Encyclopedia (Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History) http://www.eh.net/encyclopedia/
Cambridge Encyclopedia of English and American Literature http://www.bartleby.com/cambridge/
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/
Encyclopedia Mythica http://www.pantheon.org/mythica.html
Encyclopedia Smithsonian http://www.si.edu/resource/faq/start.htm
Free Internet Encyclopedia http://www.cam-info.net/enc.html
New Advent Catholic Encyclopedia http://www.newadvent.org/
Nupedia (open contribution/peer-reviewed) http://nupedia.8media.org
Wikipedia (collaborative open content) http://www.wikipedia.org/



Atlases

Encarta Map Center http://encarta.msn.com/encnet/features/MapCenter/Map.aspx
Outline Maps http://www.eduplace.com/ss/maps/
Geography @About.com http://geography.about.com/
All the Worlds Maps http://www.embassyworld.com/maps/maps.html
Concierge.com Maps http://www.concierge.com/tools/maps/
BBC News: Key Maps http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/shared/spl/hi/middle_east/03/v3_iraq_key_maps/html/daily_strikes/link1.stm
Perry Casteñeda Map Collection http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/index.html
Historical Atlas of the Twentieth Century http://users.erols.com/mwhite28/20centry.htm
United Nations Cartographic Section http://www.un.org/Depts/Cartographic/english/
American Memory Maps Collections http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html
CultureGrams
Map Library U.S. Military Academy http://www.dean.usma.edu/history/web03/atlases/atlas%20home.htm
Places in the News http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/plnews.html
National Atlas http://nationalatlas.gov/
National Geographic’s Map Machine http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/
Color Landform Atlas of the United States http://fermi.jhuapl.edu/states/states.html
TopoZone http://www.topozone.com/
MapQuest http://mapquest.com
MapBlast.com http://www.mapblast.com
Maporama http://www.maporama.com/share/
MultiMap.com http://uk2.multimap.com/



Bigraphical

Biographical Dictionary http://www.s9.com/biography/
Biography.com http://www.biography.com/
Lives, the Biography Resource http://amillionlives.com
PBS Biographies http://www.pbs.org/neighborhoods/history/#bio
Gale (free resources) http://www.galegroup.com/free_resources/
Who2? http://www.who2.com/
Grolier's American Presidency http://gi.grolier.com/presidents
POTUS http://www.ipl.org/ref/POTUS
President of the United States http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/presidents/index.html
Presidents of the United States http://www.presidentsusa.net/
Presidents Index http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/P/ offers profiles, as well as links to speeches, writings, and libraries.



Nations, States, Travel

General Travel Sites maps.html
Library of Congress Country Studies http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/
Library of Congress is Portals to the World http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
State Department’s Background Notes http://www.state.gov/r/pa/bgn/
CIA World Factbook www.cia.gov
Atlapedia Online http://www.atlapedia.com/
World Statesmen.org http://www.worldstatesmen.org/
InfoNation (United Nations comparisons) http://www.cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation/info.asp
NationMaster http://www.nationmaster.com
INCORE: Internet Conflict Data Service http://www.incore.ulst.ac.uk/cds/countries/index.html
Worldwide Gazeteer http://www.gazeteer.com/
Ethnologue (information about world languages) http://www.ethnologue.com/web.asp
Human Rights Watch http://www.hrw.org/hrw/
Internet Public Library’s Culturequest http://www.ipl.org/youth/cquest/
Country Reports.org http://www.countryreports.org/
Economist Country Briefings http://www.economist.com/countries/
Amnesty International http://www.amnesty.org/ailib/aireport/
Lonely Planet’s Destinations http://www.lonelyplanet.com/destinations
Your Nation http://www.your-nation.com/



The Fifty States

Internet Public Library’s Stately Knowledge http://www.ipl.org/youth/stateknow/skhome.html
50 States and Capitals
ClassBrain.com State Reports
Stateline.org http://www.stateline.org


Government Information


FirstGov:Your First Click to U.S. Government http://www.firstgov.gov/
KidsGov http://www.kids.gov/
Ben’s Guide to U.S. Government for Kids http://bensguide.gpo.gov
Library of Congress
White House
U.S. Senate
U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. Supreme Court
NASA
National Security Agency
U.S. Information Agency
State of Alaska




U.S. History

American Cultural History: The Twentieth Century http://www.nhmccd.edu/contracts/lrc/kc/decades.html
From Revolution to Reconstruction. . .and What Happens Afterwards http://odur.let.rug.nl/usanew/
Primary Sources Pathfinder primary.html



Social Issues

Multnomah County Library’s Social Issues Page http://www.multcolib.org/homework/sochc.html
Public Agenda Online http://www.publicagenda.org/
Public Education Network http://www.penpress.org/
See Issues Pathfinder issuespath.html


About flags

Flags of the World http://fotw.vexillum.com/flags/
World Flag Database http://www.flags.net
Flag of the United States http://www.usis.usemb.se/usflag/
Guide to American Flags http://www.law.ou.edu/flags.html
Flags of All Countries http://www.theodora.com/flags.html



Calculators and Conversion

Convert It! http://microimg.com/science/
Universal Currency Converter http://www.xe.com/ucc/
Calculator.com http://www.calculator.com/
Measure 4 Measure http://www.wolinskyweb.net/measure.htm
Convert Me http://www.convert-me.com/en/


Time & Holidays

About time: Calendars, Holidays, This Day in History
Alterna Time (chronologies) http://www2.canisius.edu/~emeryg/time.html
Web Chronology Project http://campus.northpark.edu/history/WebChron/
*This Day in History http://www.historychannel.com/thisday/
(On This Day http://www.nytimes.com/learning/general/onthisday/index.html
*Today in History Archive http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/today/archive.html
*Facts.com: What Happened That Day? (subscription) http://www.2facts.com/stories/mainmenu.asp
*Information Please Day in History http://www.infoplease.com/cgi-bin/dayinhistory/
DMarie Time Capsule http://www.dmarie.com/timecap/
Calendar Home.com http://calendarhome.com/tyc/
Worldwide Holiday and Festival site http://www.HolidayFestival.com/
KidLink Multicultural Calendar http://www.kidlink.org/KIDPROJ/MCC/


Quotations

Bartleby (combined quote index search) http://www.bartleby.com/quotations/
QuoteLand http://www.quoteland.com
Quoteworld http://quoteworld.org http://quoteworld.org http://quoteworld.org


Math Remedies

Discovery School Webmath http://school.discovery.com/homeworkhelp/webmath/
SOS Mathematics http://www.sosmath.com/index.html

Periodic Tables

Los Alamos National Laboratories http://pearl1.lanl.gov/periodic/default.htm
WebElements http://pearl1.lanl.gov/periodic/default.htm
Visual Elements http://www.chemsoc.org/viselements/



Musuems and Literature